"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

You Win Some, You Lose Some

Sometimes we shop at the $1 store.  I’m not embarrassed to admit that- we’ve found some really fantastic deals there!  We’re pretty picky about what we buy though.  We mostly stick with name brand things (It’s not that we are snooty, it’s just that you can find some strange and funky things there so we just feel it’s safer that way).   It’s a little trick we’ve started doing to save money.  We write-up our grocery list, go to the dollar store first, and then get whatever is left at the grocery store.  Sometimes we hit the jackpot and other times . . . well, not so much.

Here’s what I’m talking about.  This summer I found Loreal’s self tanning lotion for $1. Since I’ve moved here, I’ve made it a practice to never walk out of the house without sunscreen on my face.   I’m pretty fair-skinned anyway, but in the summer this makes my face several shades lighter than the rest of my body.  I’ve used this kind before and it’s usually around $8-10 so it was a GREAT find.

Twice we have found mini roses and a few other beautiful potted flowers.  In fact, about half the flowers on our patio are from the $1 store!

We have found spices without garlic.  These spices are not name brand, but spices are expensive and usually have garlic so we gave it a shot.  Our food has flavor again and my husband is a happy man.

We found sweet and sour sauce without garlic.  Also not a name brand since we’ve never seen sweet and sour without garlic we gave it a shot.  GREAT find.

Crest toothpaste, Aquafresh toothpaste, Campbells soup,  Reach toothbrushes, Soft Soap liquid hand soap, holiday decorations, picture frames, etc, etc, etc.  All GREAT finds.

We have been wanting new pot holders and dish towels and have decided to redo our kitchen in red and sage green (not to be confused with Christmas green).  We found a great deal on dish towels at big lots in exactly the right shades (That is until the green towels turned yellow) but have yet to find pot holders in those colors . . . until one glorious day at the dollar store we found oven mitts.  Not just in the right shade of red, but also the right shade of green.  We bought one of each.

We were so excited that we got home and threw away our old pot holders, and I put the green one in the wash . . . and viola!

 

It shrank 2 sizes.  This darn oven mitt barely fits my hand now.  James has to fold it in half and use it like a pot holder.    I still haven’t washed the red one- partly because I’m waiting for a big enough load of reds and partly because I’m afraid it will come out child sized.

Oh well.  You win some, you lose some.  And at $1 each I still think it was worth the gamble!

4 responses

  1. What a great idea, Toni. I used to go to the Dollar Store a lot, but found not everything was a great deal. Still, why not check it out and see if the things you’re looking for are there are a cheaper price?

    November 1, 2010 at 8:11 am

    • Yeah, I’ve found that you really have to watch soups and individual drinks (like Gatorade). Sometimes you can find a better deal at Ralphs. If you are ever in north county, the $1 store in Poway is where we have found the best finds:)

      November 1, 2010 at 8:22 am

  2. The Dollar Store is also good for wrapping paper, gifts bags … basic party supplies like that. I used to go all the time in Ridgecrest, but I don’t in San Diego. Guess I need to find where a good $1 store is in PB :)

    November 1, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    • I bought a box of gift bags at Costco a while back so I would have them on hand when I needed them so I’m not allowed to buy anymore until they are all gone, lol. But I used to get all my Christmas gift bags from the $1 store!

      November 1, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.