"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Celebrating 4 Amazing Years!

Today I have been married to the love of my life for 4 years! We’ve known each other for 17 years so sometimes it seems like we’ve been together for so much longer. Sometimes I have trouble remembering what my life was like before him. Brad Paisley has a song that is out right now that I absolutely love because it makes me think of James and our journey together every time I hear it.
 
I Thought I Loved You Then
by Brad Paisley
 
I remember trying not to stare the night that I first met you.
You had me mesmerized.
And 3 weeks later in the front porch light taking 45 min to kiss goodnight,
I hadn’t told you yet, but I thought I loved you then.

 

(I do actually remember the very moment I saw James for the first time. It was in the gym at a basketball game and when I saw him I stopped so suddenly that the person walking behind me almost knocked me over. All the people and noise in the gym disappeared and all I could see was him . . . until the person behind me told me that he was in junior high. I was in high school so of course I thought nothing could ever happen between us. Later that night I caught him staring at me.)  

Homecoming 1993

Chorus

Now you’re my whole life, now you’re my whole world.
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you girl.
Like a river meets the sea,
Stronger than it’s ever been.
We’ve come so far since that day,
And I thought I loved you then.

(We really have come so far since that day we first saw each other. Someday I will write about it on here. It’s been a long journey getting to where we are but it’s made us stronger and more appreciative of each other. And with each passing year I find myself loving James more than the year before, even when I didn’t think it was possible to love him more than I already do.)

10 years later, he still gave me butterflies

I remember taking you back to right where I first met you.
You were so surprised.
There were people around But I didn’t care I got down on one knee right there.
And once again, I thought I loved you then.

(James didn’t propose to me where we grew up, but he did have me meet him there to make his intentions known. I drove 5 hours to eastern WA and he drove 2 days from southern CA. We picked up subway sandwiches and ate them in the back of his Explorer while the sun set into the wheat fields. He told me that he wanted to start dating with the intention of finding out if we were supposed to be married. A year and half later he proposed in a hot air balloon after watching the sun set over the ocean in San Diego where we live now.)

Sept 2, ’06 after I said yes!
The amazing sunset God provided that evening!

*Nov 4, 2006- Our big day!

Chorus
Now you’re my whole life, now you’re my whole world.
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you girl.
Like a river meets the sea,
Stronger than it’s ever been.
We’ve come so far since that day,
And I thought I loved you then.

I can just see you with a baby on the way.
I can just see you when your hair is turning gray.
What I can’t see is how I’m ever gonna love you more . . .
But I’ve said that before.

(“But I’ve said that before.” That line always gets me. Before anyone asks, we don’t have a baby on the way or are we anywhere close to it yet, but we do talk about the future all the time and what we picture ourselves doing. We especially like to talk about how we will retire and are torn between a senior living center in Coronado where we can walk hand in hand on the beach every day . . . James wearing a brightly colored Hawaiian shirt and me wearing the biggest sun hat available. Or getting a nice house in WA on a piece of land with a giant wraparound porch, 2 rocking chairs and some cold lemonade. Either way, I know with God’s help, we’ll love each other even more then, than we could ever imagine to now.)

**”I have found the one my heart loves.”

Now you’re my whole life, now you’re my whole world.
I just can’t believe the way I feel about you girl.
Well look back some day, at this moment that we’re in.
And I’ll look at you and say . . . and I thought I loved you then.
And I thought I loved you then . . .
 
On our wedding programs we used the verse “I have found the one my heart loves.” Song of Songs 3:4. I found the one my heart loves that day in the gym and every year it just keeps getting better and better.

 

 

Happy Anniversary Babe! I am so blessed to have you as my husband, spiritual leader, and my best friend.
 

 

**Showing WA some love. Sorry San Diego.

 

Photo Credits
*Craig Volpe
**Claire Wolfe

4 responses

  1. Roseann Groom

    I remember those early days of you two. I know how you feel. For me it was a hayride–I was in seventh grade and Bill was in eighth grade. Eighteen years later we got married. And it does get stronger and better every year–eighteen this April. And even with losing Andrew in June, we knew our love was strong enough to survive this most heart-breaking loss. My favority verse to give to newly weds is… Ecclesiastes 4:12…”Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” Having Christ as a partner in one’s marriage is really the secret to a happy and strong marriage. Happy Annivesary!!

    November 4, 2010 at 6:49 am

    • Thank you 🙂 That is a great verse! And you are so right. We would have never even made it through the dating period without God there. God is the secret ingredient that keeps us all going!

      November 4, 2010 at 12:03 pm

  2. Congrats on 4 years!!

    November 4, 2010 at 7:39 am

Leave a comment