"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Wood Block Fall Pumpkins

There are two things I can’t resist—flip-flops and home decor. Especially, holiday decor. I could really get myself in trouble, especially around the holidays so I’ve been trying to make things, rather than buy. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t, but it always helps to feed my need to be creative.

And some projects take longer than others, lol. I have a lot of great ideas, but there just isn’t enough time in the day! We (yes, my awesome husband helped too!) started this one last year after I saw this neat tutorial. James cut some wood blocks and sanded them, used a dremmel tool to curve the edges, and then banged them up to give them a lovely weathered and worn feel. I took some orange and brown paints (I’m sorry, I can’t remember which colors I used) and mixed them until I found the color I was looking for, and painted the blocks. It took a few coats because the paint kept soaking into the wood. Then I took  sandpaper and lightly sanded the color off the edges. It was almost Thanksgiving by the time we got this part done so the Christmas decor came out and the blocks were tucked into the cupboard until just a few weeks ago.

I’m a terrible painter, so I had secretly been dreading painting the letters on, but James came up with an awesome idea. I printed out the letters in a font that I wanted to use as a template (The one I used is called “A Yummy Apology” and can be downloaded here.) and then he suggested that I put the letters on the wood and trace them with a pen. The wood was soft so it would create an indented outline for me to use when painting. GENIUS! I wasn’t strong enough to get a good indent so he ended up doing that part for me, but it worked wonderfully. I used some white paint I had leftover from another project and easily painted the letters on. Next we found a big stick to use for the stems and James cut them down to size. I hot glued them on the wood and added ribbons, raffia, and silk leaves for embellishment. We’ll spray on a couple coats of sealer before we store them away for next year.

What do you think?  I have four more wood blocks left. What should I use them for?

This post was featured on Tip Me Tuesday, Skip to My Lou, Watcha Work-up WednesdayThe Frugal GirlsThe Vintage Farmhouse, Flaunt it Friday, Show and Tell Saturdays, and A Bowl Full of Lemons

9 responses

  1. Mel

    Ok, I got it! Use the last four blocks for B, O, O, ! and use them for halloween next year :)

    October 25, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    • We mostly decorate for “Fall” just so we can keep the decorations up all the way through Thanksgiving, but that’s a really cute idea! :)

      October 25, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  2. nicole

    how cute, i need to try this,, i’m stopping over from tip junkie and would love to have you stop by my blog and check out our huge giveaway going on- http://thelovelypoppy.blogspot.com/2011/10/blog-follower-giveaway.html xoxo nicole

    October 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

  3. Last four can be “FUN!” or “FEST” or “IT’S” for it’s fall :)

    October 29, 2011 at 6:57 am

    • Oh, that is a great idea too! Then I could move the blocks to the piano. I’ll have to think on that! :)

      October 29, 2011 at 7:47 pm

  4. You could do ‘Noel’ for Christmas. Super cute! Love that you used actual branches for the stems!!

    October 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    • Oh, that is a great idea! I was also thinking about “Home,” “Hope,” or “Love.” I may need to have hubby make me some more blocks, lol :)

      October 29, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  5. Pingback: I LOVE Fall Leaves! «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.