"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

I LOVE Fall Leaves!

One of the things I miss most about WA, (besides friends and family, of course) are fall leaves. There really is nothing quite like a sunny and crisp fall day, filled with bright orange, red, and yellow leaves everywhere you look. Fall makes me want to drink hot apple cider, bake cookies, and put on a nice warm scarf. You just don’t get that living in Southern California. I’m not complaining though. It’s pretty neat having 80 degree weather in October.

I decided that this year I was going to find a way to bring fall into our home. I’ve found several versions of this craft floating around the internet. The best part about it—it was easy and FREE! James and I took a walk and gathered up some sticks on a stifling 90 degree afternoon earlier this month, and then I arranged them in a vase that used to hold silk flowers.

Next I took leaves off of an existing leaf garland I had (they just popped right off) and I popped them onto the ends of the sticks. I thought I’d have to hot glue them onto the sticks but the branches were small enough that they fit perfectly over the ends. This is great because if we can’t find a place for them in storage, I can discard the sticks and keep the leaves to use again next year!

If you like the wooden ‘fall’ pumpkins, you can find out how I made them HERE. They were also a nearly free craft!

I took the leftover garland and draped it over the piano.

Now I can enjoy our warm weather and a little piece of fall at the same time. :)

What do you enjoy most about fall?

This post was featured on Skip to My Lou, Watcha Work Up Wednesday, Flaunt it Friday, The Frugal Girls, Tip Junkie, and A Bowl Full of Lemons.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.