"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

My Hubby is so Handy

I spent some time gardening and pruning the plants last weekend. First of all, it still amazes me that’s warm enough in January to even be out in the garden, but especially to still have one! Our flower pots are still in bloom and we have a yellow pepper that is ready to eat. The tomato plants have several flowers on them. We also have a few strawberries starting to grow. This is exciting since our strawberry plants didn’t produce a dang thing over the summer! Maybe I should just plan on a winter garden next year. :o  For the expert gardeners out there—if the tomatoes, peppers, and strawberries make it all the way to spring, can I leave them or do I need to dig them out and plant new ones?

As I was doing the gardening, I remembered that I never posted photos of the beautiful wooden planters James made me for Valentines Day last year! Here is our patio with the wonderful planters he built:

He sure is handy. I think I’ll keep him. ;)

And for those of you who might want to build your own planters—once he built them he painted the outside with a sealer and covered the inside with tar.

This post was linked to Tip Me Tuesday.

6 responses

  1. MOM

    Nice planters! Good job James!
    Toni you have many many reasons to keep James.

    January 13, 2012 at 11:35 am

  2. How pretty! And what a lovely patio.

    January 13, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    • Thanks we love our patio! You just can’t find outdoor spaces that big here. It’s one of the reasons we chose this place :)

      January 13, 2012 at 11:21 pm

  3. Very nice planters, indeed. Love the color and patterns
    of the wood!

    January 17, 2012 at 10:32 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.