"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

We’re Moving!

Whew! The last two weeks have been a whirlwind! In July I started feeling really run and exhausted all the time. I had a hard time focusing and didnt have any energy. I assumed it was allergies. One day while I was cleaning the bedroom, I found a little mold on our bookcase. I thought it was a little weird and James thought maybe some moisture was getting through the sliding glass door. So we cleaned it and forgot about it. As the month went on, I started feeling worse and worse… I had a sore throat, dizzy, headaches that eventually turned into migraines, my body started aching and felt so heavy… like someone filled my clothes with bricks. I also had such horrible nausea that I began to worry I was pregnant. And then I found it…

In the closet I found a pair of boots covered in mold. James came in and we started pulling out shoes- 15 pairs in all were covered in mold. Because we had "disturbed" the mold, I felt even worse the next day. The cats were puking and Pepper’s eyes got all goopy. James came home from work and we went to a hotel. 20 minutes later, I started feeling fine.

A guy had come out to check the moisture and found that the levels were higher than normal, but not alarmingly high. We were basically told to get a dehumidifier. James didn’t feel sick around the mold so he, my very wonderful and amazing husband, spent the next two days cleaning our room where he found pretty much anything touching the floor under the bed or in the closet, covered in mold.

We came home from the hotel and within 15 minutes I started getting all the symptoms I had before. So, we grabbed some clothes and headed to Bryan’s. James went back and looked under the carpet and found black mold. They think because we were in an end unit at the bottom of a slope that the water from the sprinkler system was running down and making the slab under our condo too wet. That combined with the sun beating down on our west facing wall created higher humidity, causing the mold.

Our landlord let us out of our lease and after almost 2 weeks of looking, we have found a new place to live. Its a duplex in a duplex complex with lots of trees and grass. It’s an older duplex so it has lots of "character" but its much bigger than our old place and we got a great deal on the rent. Oh, and did I mention there are lots of TREES and GRASS???   The streets are wide and there is less traffic too. We sign the papers and start moving tomorrow.

We took pictures to document the mold just in case we needed them. I was going to include a few but I don’t have my USB cord with me, so maybe later…

Thank you SO MUCH for all your prayers during this time- they have truly been felt!

3 responses

  1. proverbsmomof3

    and God led you to a bigger and better home. And with trees & grass to boot. 😉 Enjoy your new home.

    August 12, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  2. Emily Butler

    I'm glad you found the problem. I hope you guys have a smooth and safe move!

    August 12, 2009 at 10:54 pm

  3. Jamin

    Thanks for letting me know about your blog! I look forward to being able to keep up with you better now!

    Sorry to hear about the mold, but I am glad you found a great new place to live with TREES!

    J

    August 19, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Leave a Reply

