"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Moving update- part 2

Thank you all so much for your prayers! We have felt them and things have taken a turn.  Its been another busy week here.  We had an appliance guy look at the dishwasher and washing machine.  He fixed the leak to the dishwasher but found another one coming from our faucet.  The washing machine was rusted shut so he recommended that we just get a new one.  He told me that it was unlikely (but not impossible) that mold was growing under the sink because it would be more likely to be on top of the cabinet floor than underneath it.  BUT he said that its very likely that there is mold in the washing machine since its been leaking for so long.  So- we are getting a new washing machine!  YAY!  Please pray that our property manager can find one that fits in the laundry closet soon- she hasnt found one small enough yet and the old one is still in there.

We also had a plumber come out to fix the leaky faucet and ended up with a shiny new faucet!  This week the electrician is scheduled to come out and replace all of our plugs.  We’ve had 2 carpet guys come out to give estimates and….drumroll please… we are getting new carpet!  YAHOOOO! This means we will have to pretty much move back out, and then move back in AGAIN, but I dont care- I have visions of us dancing around barefoot on new carpet to divert my attention!

James also found that the air filter to the air conditioner/heater had not been changed and it was not on properly- so half was black and half was clean which means it wasnt filtering our air.  He changed it and I feel about 40% better now.   We noticed that there is a thin layer of grime (probably blown out of the vents while the filter was dirty) on the walls, especially in the bathrooms, so this week we will be cleaning all the walls, ceilings, counter tops, and floors and wherever else we think that junk may have landed.

Now here’s the craziest part.  I noticed a while back that I feel worse at night and a couple nights ago we were reflecting and realized that all of my really bad asthma attacks came after we started cooking dinner.  The next night I was folding laundry in the bedroom and didnt realize that James had already started cooking.  He thought it was something in the oven (like maybe they didnt get all the cleaner wiped out and it was producing fumes) so he fried chicken.  The minute I walked out there it was like all the air was forced out of my lungs.   Its been kind of scary, my asthma has always been very mild.   Up until now I have only had to use my inhaler a couple times a year and mostly just because my chest feels tight, not because I’m having an attack.  Since we have moved here, my chest is really tight whenever I’m home and I’ve had an attack almost every night we’ve been here.

Please pray for guidance on this and that God would reveal to us what is going on here.  We need to be able to cook but not under these conditions.  God has provided for us in so many ways the last 3 years that I know He’ll get us through this too.  Last week our pastor spoke on contentment.  It really was a good swift kick in the pants for me because I know I had not been feeling very content during this time.  So, this last week I have been working on being more content in the Lord rather than focusing on how to fix our situation, and it has brought some peace and calmness in the midst of all the sickness and craziness.  (If you want to check out the sermon you can find it HERE.)  I know that its ok to strive for better circumstances, but I am learning to put my trust back in God while doing so instead of trusting clean carpet, lol. 

Thanks again for all your prayers!

2 responses

  1. BlossomB

    Hi, I just stumbled over here somehow..am not even sure how…but I wanted to tell you something that might be similar to your situation. My mother-in-law has asthma as well and lived in a house for little less than a year last year. When she went to check out the house to rent, they had just painted and the smell was bothersome to her but she thought nothing of it. She lives in Salem and it's very moist. Anyway, she lived there for a month and still her asthma was not getting better and she was having more health problems. On the surface, you couldn't see the mold…but it was in the walls…the paint only covered it up. I pray that it isn't the same in your new place but I wanted to let you know….mold can be pretty much anywhere…and it's very very bad (as you probably already know!)
    I will keep you in my prayers and I am sure that God will continue to look your way and stretch out his hand to you.
    Oh, and I have never blogged either…but it is fun anyway! 🙂 Blossom

    August 30, 2009 at 5:04 pm

  2. proverbsmomof3

    and hope that things will continue to improve. Just curious, but is your stove vented outside or into the apartment? If it's venting into your apartment that might be a problem. Just a thought. Continuing to pray for you.Edited by proverbsmomof3 on Aug. 30, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    August 30, 2009 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

