"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Moving update- part 3

Here’s a quick update on what’s been going on, and then hopefully this week sometime, I’m going to post a blog with information on mold- like symptoms, testing, prevention, where to find info, etc in case this happens to any of you.  It’s been a nightmare!

The electrician came by early this week and replaced all our plugs, so no more fire hazards- YAY! Just a funny side note, all the workers who have come out here in the last couple weeks have been cat people- and they’ve all been men.  Every time I tell them that if the cats start bothering them, l can lock them in the bedroom and every time they tell me to please not lock away the kitties and then most of them made a comment on how beautiful Pepper is. 

I *think* the ant traps are finally working.  YAY!

We got a new washer and dryer this weekend.  Yay!  No more laundry mats.  Double Yay!

We’re supposed to be getting new carpet in next week.  YAY!!!  No one has confirmed an appointment with us yet.  BOO!

On a health update- my asthma and symptoms are getting much worse.  In the past, its been kind of as stretch to even say I had asthma because it was well controlled and I only had to use my rescue inhaler a couple times a year- and usually just because I felt uncomfortable.  I might have an attack once a year or so.  Its SO bad now that I dont even sleep at night.  I have trouble falling asleep because I’m coughing and wake myself up coughing once I do fall asleep.  I have trouble holding a conversation in our house because I start coughing and feel winded even just from talking.  My doctor has put me on a twice daily med that will hopefully help but it will take about a week to start working. 

I’ve also started developing other symptoms like sore throat, stomach cramps, a burning sensation in my stomach, loss of appetite (I actually have to force food down me when I’m home and it usually just ends up being toast.  We’ve started eating dinner in the car.  Today I got up started moving around the house, went in the bathroom and found my face broken out in hives around my mouth.  They disappeared about 15 min after leaving the house.  I know it wasnt a food allergy because I hadn’t eaten anything yet.

James has started having digestive issues and a scratchy throat.  Malakai is lethargic and sounds congested.  Pepper is sneezing up a storm and is congested.  She made some really strange noises last night too… sort of similar to a human trying to clear mucus out of their throat.  Please continue to pray for our health.  Especially James’s- I work from home but his job is much more physical.

We did a couple of air tests last week and there is mold in the house.  We still haven’t found where- I’m guessing the carpet.  Hoping and praying its just in the carpet and not in the walls. 

Please pray for GREAT discernment on what to do next.  We are beyond broke and can’t afford to move again.  I don’t want to cause trouble for the landlords- they are already paying out a small fortune for all the work that has been done, but at the same time, I want to make sure this is handled right so that the mold is removed and our stuff gets cleaned.   It is certainly not healthy for us to be here under these conditions.  😦  I know God will provide and I know He knows all that is going on and how its going to end but I am really struggling (health wise) while I wait.  Also, we know He can’t possibly want us to live this way, but we’re not seeing the reason behind all of this.

On a whole different topic, I found a line of products that make dairy items with coconut milk!  No soy or lactose!  We found the yogurt at Vons- it expired that day but I took a chance and got it- sadly in actuality it expired a little earlier so I didn’t get to enjoy it.  But… tonight we found mint chip ice cream!  I haven’t tried it yet but I’m excited!  Yay for the little gifts in life.

2 responses

  1. proverbsmomof3

    throughout this whole ordeal. I feel such sympathy for your situation and can't wait for the good report you are sure to share soon.
    Continuing in prayer, my friend.

    September 6, 2009 at 7:28 am

  2. Anonymous

    Toni –
    so sorry you are dealing with this! I will keep you in my prayers. I hope that this is quickly resolved for you and yo on your way to better health!
    Hugs,
    Kelly

    September 6, 2009 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

