"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Moving update- part 4

 

We found out why having the oven on would immediately throw me into an asthma attack- there was toxic oven cleaner inside that hadn’t been cleaned out!  My chiropractor was the one who suggested we thoroughly check out the inside to make sure there wasn’t any melted plastic or something else toxic inside.  I tried to open the oven twice and both times I got really sharp chest pains.  So, James cleaned the oven, I was ordered to keep my head out of it.

We also found that at one time (hopefully not anymore) rats or mice lived in our attic and chewed through the wiring.  We have an electrician coming out on tues to fix it. 

The ants keep marching 1 million by 1 billion it seems- apparently this part of San Diego is one giant ant hill and everyone is having problems.  We talked to a lady in a grocery store and she said she finally gave up and now she and the ants just co-exist.  We haven’t reached the point of defeat yet, but I am grateful that if we are going to overrun with insects that they are ants!

We also have learned that RB has the UGLIEST spiders we have EVER seen.  They even gross James out, and that says a lot.  The last one I killed made a crunching noise so loud I actually jumped and then wanted to vomit, lol. 

The most exciting news we have is that we got new carpet!  Yay!  I wasn’t here when they put the carpet down- didn’t think it would be a good idea to be around all the dust and fumes.  I was so glad I wasn’t here because James said they found a few mouse droppings under the carpet.  How do you get mouse droppings UNDER the carpet???

I came home right before they were finished.  James had put the cats in the bathroom until they finished our bedroom, then he moved them in there.  I came home and hung out in there with the cats while the workers finished up.  Its so funny how even cats have the same gender differences that people do.  When I walked in, Malakai greeted me, meowed once or twice and let me know there was some strange activity going on outside the door.  When he saw that I wasnt upset about it, he went back into the closet where he had made himself a little man cave.  Pepper, however, ran over to me and began chattering for the next 15 min as if she had been waiting ALL day to tell someone about how her day had gone.  When the workers left and we opened the door, Malakai went slowly from room to room carefully inspecting every room corner to corner and when we was finished he found James and began to “help” him move the furniture back in.  Pepper on the other hand ran from room to room to quickly make sure everything was ok and then came back to me to report what she had seen.

It was AMAZING how much the new carpet lifted our moods.  Neither of us felt at home here- I wish I had taken before and after pictures. it was really disgusting- I wouldn’t walk around without shoes or sit on the floor.  James couldnt ever relax.  Now it looks less like a dirty warehouse and more like a home.

The carpet, however, did not have any mold in it and I am still really sick.  I’ve completely lost my appetite and when I do eat, I have digestive problems.  I’ve been noticing I’ve been having some trouble with my memory and concentration.  My asthma is still pretty bad and my muscles are really sore and achy.  I’ve been having headaches (and sometimes migraines) and sore throats.  My body feels heavy all the time- like someone loaded my clothes with bricks.  I’m always tired and my eyes feel heavy but I have trouble falling asleep but then when I do, I cant wake up.  Before when I left the house I would immediately feel better.  It seems the longer we’ve been here, the longer it takes for me to feel better when I leave.  Now it takes a few hours and even then I don’t  feel all that great.  James is starting to have some asthma symptoms too and he doesnt even have asthma.  The cats are lethargic and congested and Malakai seems to be afraid of his food dish.  I have to coax him to eat.  Pepper eats a few bites and is finished- she seems to be losing weight.  Our property manager has been very hesitant about doing a mold test but in my research I started finding that certain toxic molds can have long term side effects- like brain damage, permanent memory loss, reproductive problems, hearing loss, respiratory problems, etc., so we decided just to get a mold test on our own.  It was expensive but we just couldn’t live like this anymore.  Plus our health could be at stake.

Leave a Reply

