"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Turtle Bread

Last night I tried to make turtle bread. See Betty Crocker’s recipe HERE.  Noticed how cute her turtle is? Mine didn’t exactly turn out like that, lol. I’m going to tell you about this turtle baking adventure so you can try the recipe too, but without making my mistakes.

This was my first time baking with yeast and didn’t really know the difference between the different kinds. Realizing that I had active dry yeast instead of quick active dry yeast, I followed the directions for active dry yeast. Do any of you know if that makes a difference? And does using wheat instead of white flour make a difference?

I decided to make two smaller turtles instead of one big one. Everything seemed to be going fine but after letting the turtles rise, their eyes fell off. If you decide to give this a try, you really have to stick them in there good… and before the bread rises. After sticking the eyes back in their heads deflated and deformed and had to be reshaped.

Next I tried to make the shell as instructed in the recipe. As soon as I touched it the shell started sinking a bit. I’m thinking if I had made the full sized turtle this part might have been a little easier. Instead of cutting into the dough as directed, I found it easier to take a table knife and make a ridge by gently pushing into the bread dough all the way around the turtle. I covered them back up and let it sit a little longer hoping they would rise up again, but they didn’t so in the oven they went.
 

I started to walk out of the kitchen. BANG! I jumped, the cats jumped… and the turtles jumped. Uh-oh. Note to self: don’t by cheap baking pans. Running back to the oven I immediately saw two very flat turtles and a contorted pan. I should have taken a picture. It was impressively contorted. It jumped one more time after this, but it didn’t seem like anything else could be done so I just left the turtles in there hoping they would at least taste good.

Betty Crocker recommends that you bake for 20-25 minutes. I took the turtles out after 12 minutes and they were a little well done. However, it should be noted that our oven tends to bake a little willy-nilly. Some things take 3 times as long and others take ½ as long. I’m not quite sure why but I have gotten in the habit of checking about half way through just to be safe. 

The turtles were a little dense, but tasted ok especially with honey. On the back of the flour bag there’s a recipe for honey wheat bread. I think I’ll try that next time.

2 responses

  1. I don’t know what the turtle is SUPPOSED to look like, but your turtle is very cute. Congratulations. How did it taste?

    I’ve only tried yeast bread once. My attempt wasn’t successful. Maybe because the yeast was expired. In fact, I’ve pretty much given up baking. It requires following directions exactly, and I’m not too good at those kinds of details.

    August 30, 2010 at 9:41 am

    • There’s a picture of it in the link to the Betty Crocker recipe, but if you look at it you won’t think my turtle is cute anymore! It tasted ok. It was a little dense for me but James liked it. This is my first attempt at yeast too and I’ve heard that it can be challenging to work with. I’m the opposite, I have to have the details. I wish I was more creative and could bake like my grandma though. I’m not sure she even owns a recipe book. She just throws things in a bowl, mixes it up, sticks it in the oven and it comes out tasting perfect.

      September 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

