"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

He Always Gives Us Just Enough

I am constantly amazed at how God provides for us financially.  Right before we married, God told me that we would not have an abundance of money, but that we would always get by.  I didn’t really “get it” at the time.  I thought that was how I was already living (while I was single).  I had a great job up in WA and although I lived on a budget, I always had enough for the things I needed and usually had a little extra.  Someday I’ll write more about our story, but after getting married I moved to CA (James was already living here) and things changed a little.  Although I love my new job and I know it’s exactly where God wants me, it does pay less and we do have to be a lot more careful about how we spend our money.

James’s work is always really busy in the winter and super slow in the summer.  Generally we try to save up a good chunk in the winter to pull from in the summer as we need to.  The end of the summer can become a little hairy and usually around this time we are really pinching our pennies waiting for his work to take off again. 

Throughout the year, James collects bits of copper to recycle.  It doesn’t generally yield a lot but especially this time of the year it really helps out.  Last Tuesday morning he took his copper in to be recycled and received $140 for it. 

His job provides him with a work van so at the end of the day when he was ready to come home, he parked the van and started to get into his car.  Ugh.  His car was parked on the street and someone had hit his mirror and it was hanging by just the wires.  They didn’t leave a note or anything.  He called to find out how much it would be to fix it and they told him $250.    Even if we used the money from the copper we still had to pay an extra $110 that we didn’t have to fix it.

This weekend he took the car in to have an adjuster and the repair shop look at it.  Are you sitting down?  The guy at the repair shop ‘just happened’ to find a used mirror and the total cost would  be… are you ready?  That’s right.  $140!  God is SO good!

I know some of you are probably thinking- if God is so good, why didn’t he protect your car from being hit? Here is what I believe. Things happen in this world for 3 reasons- God, Satan, or from our own free will.  Yes, someone made a decision not to stop and take responsibility for what they did.  And yes, we could have used the $140 elsewhere.  But God knew this was going to happen, allowed it to happen, and He provided us with exactly what we needed. 

I don’t really know if God caused it or allowed it, but I do know that James and I both like to do things on our own.  I’ve noticed that whenever we have reached that point where we begin to really worry about how to make ends meet (or other things in life), God has stepped in to remind us somehow that we can’t do it all on our own but that He is always going to be there to take care of us.  Sometimes we just need a good kick in the rear.  It’s an amazing and humbling experience but I am so thankful that God always provides us with just enough.

3 responses

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE what you wrote today. I can so totally relate to that, except ours is backwards. Hubby is busy in the summer and SLOW during the winter.

    We feel the same way that you stated in last paragraph about doing it ourselves with God’s help. I believe He gets more glory that way.

    Thanks for sharing today!

    October 4, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  2. Roseann Groom

    Toni~
    You are so right. After Andrew’s death, God reminded me so many times that He is always there for me and He will always give me what I need.

    October 4, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    • I’m so glad for that. I read all your blog posts and am consitently in awe at how God is working in your life. You are one strong woman of God Mrs. Groom!

      October 28, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

