"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Christmas Traditions

At small group a couple of weeks ago we talked about our family’s Christmas traditions and I thought that I would share them here too. My two most favorite traditions were started by each of my grandmothers. 

As soon as Kevin and I were old enough, Grandma Jones would pick out an age appropriate craft for each of us.  Kev spent Sat afternoons with her and I would spend Sun afternoons with her.  We would make the craft for each member in our family.  It gave us some great quality time with grandma and it allowed us, as children, to give gifts that we made (mostly) on our own.  I remember feeling so grown up when I put the gifts we made under the tree.  Now, I cherish the memories and the time that we spent together making them.

Every year since we were born, Grandma Brown has given each of us grandkids a Christmas ornament.  She started that tradition so that when we grew up and moved out on our own we would already have ornaments for our tree.  Now every year when I decorate the tree, each ornament has a memory or year tied to it that I remember as we decorate.  It’s so special to me and I hope that if James and I have children someday, that our parents will do the same!

Here are the ornaments grandma gave us this year:

James says: "I guess I'm the one with the goatee?" 🙂

 

What are some of your Christmas traditions?

4 responses

  1. Kelly Harri

    Of course BAKING! But when my grandma comes down then the girls of the family like to put together a difficult puzzle in the evenings! It’s also standard operating procedure to watch “A Christmas Story” on Christmas while we are unwrapping gifts or after.. Until we were 18 my mom used to get each of us kids a Christmas ornament to collect. We also like to make hot apple cidar! 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    December 13, 2010 at 8:59 am

  2. Beautiful Blog, Beautiful Smile,
    Beautiful Girl, Beautiful Writing!
    Keep up the good job, My Dear!
    Blessings!
    Julia

    December 13, 2010 at 12:02 pm

  3. Thanks Julia! Merry Christmas!

    December 14, 2010 at 1:45 am

Leave a Reply

