"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

The Power of Prayer

. . . and doing what God is calling you to do.

I have chronic pain in my neck and shoulders from a car accident I was in over two years ago. Some days are better than others, but I’m in some level of pain and have headaches almost everyday. I’m not complaining.  It is what it is, and I know other people who live with far worse pain than I. I’ve tried several types of treatment – Physical therapy, chiropractic care, physical therapy again, and now I’m in massage therapy.  The massage has been helping. I still have a ways to go, but I haven’t had a migraine for almost 4 months now! That’s progress 😀 But that’s not exactly what this blog entry is about.

Our church offers a prayer time after each service. I’ve thought about going up and being prayed over for my neck and back, but just never have. Why? Well, I already have people praying for me like my small group, and some friends & family. And I truly believe that God will heal me when He feels it’s time.  Whether it’s tomorrow or 10 years from now (hopefully he won’t wait that long!). But mostly, being prayed for by someone I don’t know makes me really uncomfortable. I’m not sure why exactly . . . could be pride, shyness, or not feeling worthy of a stranger’s time.  Probably a little of each.

Our church started a new series called Revolution a couple weeks ago. At this weekend’s service our pastor spoke about when Jesus washed his disciples feet. This story is always a hard one for me because I don’t like feet, and the thought of someone having to wash mine . . . wow. But, the point he made that really hit home to me is that it’s not only important to serve others, but it’s also important to let other’s serve you. I have a hard time with that. Pastor Darrel went on to say that when we don’t allow others to serve us, we are robbing them from the blessing God gives when they serve. I had never though about it that way.

When he said that, I knew that I had to go up and get prayer. That’s their ministry, to pray for people. And God has been whispering that I need to do this for awhile.  A very nice man from our church sat down with James and I and prayed over us and asked for healing on my back and neck.  He seemed to really understand how chronic pain effects people. I wish I could say that I walked out of there healed completely. But, the next best thing that could have happened did. 

You see, about a week ago, I slept on my shoulder wrong and my neck locked up and I could barely move it.  My shoulder became really inflamed and it was pretty painful.  This happens every couple months or so but it usually starts to get better after about 3 days.  A week later it still hadn’t gotten much better.  When we walked out to our car after receiving the prayer, I could feel my shoulders start to loosen. We got in the car and I could begin to move my neck.  By the time I got home, I had normal post-accident range of motion again. It was truly amazing! In a strange way, it made me really thankful for the amount of pain that I live with.  Not to have it, but thankful knowing that it could be a lot worse. Thankful for answered prayer. And for peace after doing something God had been putting on my heart to do for a while, but wouldn’t step out of my comfort zone to do. Thankful for the reminder of what can happen when you do what God asks of you. I’m praying that it blessed the man who prayed for us at least as much as it has blessed me. And I should clarify that I know he didn’t heal the kink in my neck, but he answered a calling from God to pray for others, allowing God to give me healing through him. 

Have you been avoiding anything that God has been calling you to do?

2 responses

  1. Awesome story Toni! Thank your for sharing it and I hope that prayers continue to be answered for you!!

    May 3, 2011 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

