"Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding." Proverbs 3:5

Old Traditions, New Traditions

Every year, for as long as I can remember, my whole family from my mom’s side has met in Seattle for a Mariners’ game. It’s one of my favorite family traditions. Besides being a mini-family reunion, there is just something special about the Mariners and going to the ballpark as a kid. I had the privilege of watching Jr., Randy, Edgar, Joey, Buhner, A-Rod, Lou and the rest of Seattle’s baseball greats way back even when they were in the Kingdome. Oh, and Dave Niehaus was there too. In my opinion, the only sound sweeter than the crack of the bat, was Dave yelling “My Oh My!”

If you’ve never been to a game in Seattle, you really should go! Maybe I’m a bit biased since I grew up there . . . I mean,  haven’t been to too many other stadiums, but I can say that the experience doesn’t compare to the ones I have been to. The fans do the wave at every game. And it doesn’t just fizzle out after one time around. It goes around at least 3 times strong, and even longer if they are winning. The crowd is loud and Seattle fans are loyal. You don’t see a lot of people sporting jersey’s from the opposing team. They go to the games even if they have a losing season. And who doesn’t love a big, happy, Moose?  In case your still not convinced . . . they have a retractable roof and the Mariners were born the same year that I was. Coincidence? I think not. Oh, and they have Ichiro. Enough said.

I’m not really a fan of rap, but this is nice tribute to Dave and the Mariners. I love the line that says “My city, my city, childhood, my life, watching Griffey right under those lights.”

Now that we live in San Diego, I’m not able to go to the family baseball games anymore, and I was a lot more sad about it than I expected. Plus, the only Seattle games televised here are the ones against the Padres (3 games here and 3 games in Seattle) and a few preseason ones since they train in Peoria with the Pads. Since I can’t go home for the game, we’ve started our own tradition of watching the Mariners when they come here. And since we can’t be with our family, we usually go with someone from our small group, our church family.  That’s how we are turning old traditions into new ones!

This year, we were blessed to go to two games! I felt like a little kid, I was so excited! At the friday night game, we went with friends and sat on the Mariner side in left field. Several other people we knew were there that night too. I guess everyone loves the Mariners! 😉 Mariners win 4-1.

Us with the Becks

This was taken with a cell phone, so it doesn’t do it justice, but this was one of the best fireworks displays I have ever seen!

A friend of mine gets Padre tickets through his work and was so sweet to give us his tickets to Saturday night’s game since he knew I liked the Mariners. The seats were AMAZING. 2nd row, off first base. I could have leaned over the wall and grabbed infield dirt and thrown it at the ump if I wanted to, we were that close. The guys next to us heckled James for marrying a Mariners fan, but that’s ok. I got the last laugh. Mariners won 4-0.

Our view

My love

I’m thankful that the Mariners come here each year and that we are able to go see them play. It makes being away from home a little bit easier!

Leave a Reply

